26 January 2017 | Happy Republic Day

26 January is one the most important date of India’s history. India celebrates Republic Day on 26 January to express respect and honor to the Constitution of India. This year again, 26 January is very near to us and we all are ready to celebrate this amazing and patriotic day with so much joy and happiness. Indian people are going to celebrate their  68th Republic Day on 26 January 2017.

History of Republic Day

Because of our Freedom Fighter’s amazing brave and hard work, India got freedom on 15 August 1947 known as Independence Day. But we did not have well organized law to manage such a big country. Then a drafting committee arranged by the ministry of India for preparing a new constitution of India. The first copy of the constitution was drafted on 4 November 1947.After many deliberation and modifications, the 308 members of the Assembly signed on two hand written copies (One each in Hindi and English) of the constitution on 24 January 1950. After two days The constitution of India came into the action throughout the India.

26 January Celebration

The main celebration of Republic Day is held at Rajpath in New Delhi (Capital of India). Republic Day parade is done by Indian Armed Forces. They salute to the President of India during this parade. So many cultural shows are performed at the time of celebration.

Delhi Republic Day Parade

Delhi Republic Day Parade is held in the capital of India New Delhi at Rajpath. It starts from the Rashtrapati Bhavan goes through the Raisina Hill on Rajpath and end to India Gate. The parade shows India’s unity in diversity, Defence Capabilty, Culture and Social Heritage.

Around Nine to Twelve Regiments of Indian Army including Indian Navy and Air Force participate in this parade. The President of India, who is the commander in chief of Indian Armed Forces takes the salute.


Rashtrapati Bhavan and adjacent buildings illuminated for the Republic Day.

Surya Kiran Aerobatics Team displaying tricolor.

Prime Minister of India, Narendra Modi and the chiefs of Indian Armed Forces services, saluting the martyrs at Amar Jawan Jyoti at India Gate, on the occasion of the Republic day, 2016

Border Security Force personnel on Republic Day.

Republic Day Parade Chief Guest

Since 1950, India hosts the head of state of government of another country as a special chief guest on Republic Day. From 1950 to 1954, Parade was organized at different places like Irwin Stadium, Kingsway, Red Fort and Ramlila Grounds. It was 1955 when Republic Day Parade started on Rajpath and from that time we are celebration Republic Day on Rajpath New Delhi.

2001 President Abdelaziz Bouteflika[42]  Algeria
2002 President Cassam Uteem[42]  Mauritius 3rd invitation
2003 President Mohammed Khatami[42]  Iran
2004 President Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva [43]  Brazil 2nd invitation
2005 King Jigme Singye Wangchuck[43]  Bhutan 3rd invitation
2006 King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz al-Saud[43]  Saudi Arabia
2007 President Vladimir Putin[43]  Russia 3rd invitation
2008 President Nicolas Sarkozy[43]  France 4th invitation
2009 President Nursultan Nazarbayev[43]  Kazakhstan
2010 President Lee Myung Bak[44]  South Korea
2011 President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono[45][46]  Indonesia 2nd invitation
2012 Prime Minister Yingluck Shinawatra[47]  Thailand
2013 King Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck[48]  Bhutan 4th invitation
2014 Prime Minister Shinzo Abe[49]  Japan
2015 President Barack Obama  United States
2016 President François Hollande  France 5th invitation[50]
2017 Crown Prince Mohammed bin Zayed Al Nahyan
26 January 2017 | © 2017 Frontier Theme